hostviewer.blogg.se

Thewirecutter wd my book review
Thewirecutter wd my book review













thewirecutter wd my book review
  1. #Thewirecutter wd my book review update#
  2. #Thewirecutter wd my book review full#
  3. #Thewirecutter wd my book review software#

The My Book Live device received its final firmware update in 2015. In some cases, this compromise has led to a factory reset that appears to erase all data on the device. Western Digital has determined that some My Book Live devices are being compromised by malicious software. (It’s worth noting that some victims had cloud services disabled on their device.)Ī statement from Western Digital doesn’t really clarify the issue: But because so many My Book Live drives were attacked within the span of just a few hours, many people wonder if Western Digital’s servers were hacked. Western Digital stopped supporting the My Book Live back in 2015, but the company continues to run its My Book Live servers for dedicated users.Īt a glance, it might seem that the 6-year lapse in firmware or security updates left My Book Live users vulnerable to attacks. It sits behind a firewall and communicates through Western Digital’s cloud servers to provide remote storage for users. The WD My Book Live is a Network-Attached Storage (or NAS) device with a twist. Other Western Digital NAS devices appear to be fine. Note: Only the WD My Book Live is impacted by this problem.

thewirecutter wd my book review

Read more about this and other troubling details in our latest My Book Live update. In a statement, Western Digital blames this problem on “malicious software.” Update, 6/29/21 11:29 am Eastern: Western Digital removed code that would have prevented this factory reset exploit from happening. Several users on the Western Digital forum report that their drives were factory reset through remote commands, leading to the permanent loss of all data.

#Thewirecutter wd my book review software#

It comes with all the software you need to help protect your data, including WD Backup and WD Security software, and is compatible with Apple Time Machine.If you own a WD My Book Live drive, you should unplug it from your router immediately. My Book desktop storage is ready to use out of the box for PC so you can start transferring files, saving your memories and backing up. With up to 8TB of storage capacity, you can trust your My Book drive to be the home of your digital life. The compact design of the My Book drive exudes a confidence reflective of its reliability. For quick, convenient access, you can set WD Security to automatically unlock the device on your computer, saving you the hassle of keying in your password every time. Just activate password protection and set your own personalized password. The My Book device’s built-in 256-bit AES hardware encryption with WD Security™ software helps keep your content private and safe. Password Protection with Hardware Encryption

#Thewirecutter wd my book review full#

The My Book desktop hard drive also works great with Acronis® True ImageTM WD Edition software to schedule full system backups. Just pick the time and frequency to back up important files from your system. You can set it to run automatically to your schedule. My Book desktop storage comes equipped with WD Backup software for Windows and Apple Time Machine compatibility to help make sure your photos, videos, music and documents don’t get lost. Equipped with password protection and perfectly paired with WD Backup for PC or Apple Time Machine for Mac, My Book desktop storage helps keep your files safe. The My Book hard drive is trusted desktop storage designed to complement your personal style with a massive amount of space to store your photos, videos, music and documents.















Thewirecutter wd my book review